hosts will be able to control the microphones and cameras of other participants

hosts will be able to control the microphones and cameras of other participants
hosts will be able to control the microphones and cameras of other participants

Google Meet is Google’s video conferencing service that replaced Google Hangouts. As a reminder, Google started removing the classic version of Hangouts in 2019 and permanently removed it in 2020.

Last month, we reported to you that Google Meet has improved video conferencing on its platform by having an automatic light adjustment to avoid dark faces. This time around, Google announced in a Workspace blog that meeting hosts on Google Meet will now have more controls over participants’ audio and video streams.

©inkdrop/123RF.COM

Specifically, hosts will now be able to lock other participants’ microphones and cameras as needed, to make their meetings smoother and more productive.

Hosts will be able to control participants’ microphone and camera

Google had already announced the arrival of this feature in February in another Workspace blog. At the time, the tech firm presented it as ” the ability for meeting planners to mute everyone at the same time in Google Meet on desktops / laptops ».

Specifically, meeting hosts will be able to ” use audio and video locking to mute the microphones and / or cameras of other meeting participants and prevent them from turning them back on until you unlock them, in the main room and in small groups ».

Make meetings more fluid and productive

Apparently, this feature will allow hosts to prevent loud or rowdy participants from continually interrupting meetings, even after they have been muted. This microphone and camera lock feature will first be disabled by default. So hosts will need to activate it during meetings if they want to use it.

In addition, if the meeting has breakout rooms, any audio and / or video locks made in the main room will also apply in these sub-rooms. But the reverse will not be appropriate. In other words, the locks made in the individual sub-rooms will not apply to the other sub-rooms or to the main room.

What about users of older versions of Google Meet?

For older versions of the apps on iOS and Android that do not support this new feature, a user will be excluded from the meeting if the hosts activate the locks and if they are activated before the meeting, the user will not be able to leave the meeting. all join the meeting. So hosts will need to turn off these locks if they want to include people using older apps in a meeting.

This new feature will be available to all Google Workspace customers. Rollout began on Thursday, October 21 for users on the Quick Release tracks. As for users who are on the scheduled release track, this new feature will be available from 1is November.


 
For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News
 

PREV Android tablets could make a big comeback in 2022
NEXT PS5 headset with FIFA 22 cheaper