The Victoriaville Tigres win the President’s Cup

The Victoriaville Tigres win the President’s Cup
The Victoriaville Tigres win the President’s Cup

Beaucage (3rd choice in the Avalanche in 2019, 78th overall) moved the strings in second overtime and the Victoriaville Tigres defeated the Val-d’Or Foreurs 3-2 on Saturday to win the President’s Cup .

In the second minute of second overtime, Nicolas Daigle managed to lift the stick of defenseman Maxence Guenette and he recovered the puck. Daigle came back in front of the net and tried to surprise Jonathan Lemieux, but it was Beaucage who ultimately closed the books on the return.

Start of the Twitter widget. Skip the widget?End of Twitter widget. Back to the start of the widget?

The Tigers won the QMJHL final in six games. They got their hands on the second President’s Cup in their history and the first since 2002.

Tigers head coach Carl Mallette was the captain of the team that won top honors in 2002.

The last goal in overtime to give a team the President’s Cup was scored by Rimouski Oceanic forward Michael Joly in 2015. Foreurs head coach Daniel Renaud was also bad. side of the result, he who was the assistant of Philippe Boucher with the Remparts of Quebec.

Tigres forward Benjamin Tardif won the Guy Lafleur trophy, awarded to the most valuable player of the playoffs.

Start of the widget. Skip the widget?

End of the widget. Back to the start of the widget?

Olivier Coulombe, for a second consecutive game, and Mikhail Abramov, during a penalty shot, also put the needle on for the Tigers, who also won in overtime in the third part of the final.

Nikolas Hurtubise was once again very effective in front of the cage of the Victoriaville troop. He made 48 saves.

After leaving his net to Fabio Iacobo in the fourth game of the final, Hurtubise stood up to the attacks of the best team in Quebec and he gave only three goals in 84 shots in the last two victories of the Tigers.

Jacob Gaucher and Jérémy Michel replied for the Foreurs, who were never able to take the lead in the final. Lemieux was less busy than his opposite and he gave in three times with 23 shots.

It was the first all-Quebec final since 2016. At the time, the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies had defeated the Shawinigan Cataractes in five games.

Tigers bend, but don’t break

The Foreurs were expected to have their teeth in their teeth early in the game, but it was the Tigers who were more aggressive in enemy territory.

As the penalty to Xavier Bernard had just ended, Daigle’s shot hit two Foreurs players and the puck landed on the blade of Coulombe’s stick. The latter was able to slip it between Lemieux’s legs to open the scoring.

The Val-d’Or troop came back to life halfway through the first period, creating a bizarre tie. Justin Ducharme crossed the red line and he simply threw the puck in the back of the field.

Gaucher went to pick it up behind the goal line and he took a shot from a very tight angle that slipped behind Hurtubise, to everyone’s surprise.

Bernard was once again in the thick of the action when he punched Abramov with the stick as the Russian came in on a breakaway. The referees awarded him a penalty shot and the Tigres forward made a few nice feints to undress Lemieux and allow his team to return to the locker room with a 2-1 lead.

The Victoriaville team held on as best they could in the second period and landed their first shot of the period with less than four minutes remaining. During this time, Hurtubise made many good saves and he was helped from his posts, during two shots from Jordan Spence and Maxim Cajkovic.

The Tigers’ tight play continued into the final third and the defense held up on a penalty kill in the opening minutes, but forcing the pressure on, the Foreurs tied the game.

From the back of his net, Guenette made a long pass that did not find the blade of a teammate’s stick. The referees ruled that there was no disallowed relief and pressure from Gaucher led to a turnaround. Ducharme then spotted Michel alone in the enclave and the latter did not miss this golden opportunity.

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV at least 138 dead in deadliest attack since 2015
NEXT Lesneven showcases Brittany in the final